CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

Winners of the CeNS Publication Award 2021

Every year, CeNS awards prizes for excellent publications of CeNS members which have been published during the past 12 months. On Friday, November 26, the winners of this year's CeNS Publication Awards were announced online. Eleven awards were presented in the categories "Best Interdisciplinary Publication", "Scientific Breakthrough" and "Best Junior Scientist Publication". With this award, remarkably successful cooperation projects within CeNS as well as outstanding research of an individual research group of CeNS were distinguished.

Publication Award Winners 2021 (by category, in random order):

Best interdisciplinary publication

T. Matreux, K. Le Vay, A. Schmid, P. Aikkila, L. Belohlavek, A. Z. Çalışkanoğlu, E. Salibi, A. Kühnlein, C. Springsklee, B. Scheu, D. B. Dingwell, D. Braun, H. Mutschler and C. B. Mast: Heat flows in rock cracks naturally optimize salt compositions for ribozymes; Nature Chemistry, 10.1038/s41557-021-00772-5 (2021)

B. Ramm, A. Goychuk, A. Khmelinskaia, P. Blumhardt, H. Eto, K. A. Ganzinger, E. Frey and P. Schwille: A diffusiophoretic mechanism for ATP-driven transport without motor proteins; Nature Physics, 10.1038/s41567-021-01213-3 (2021)

S. Vadia, J. Scherzer, H. Thierschmann, C. Schäfermeier, C. Dal Savio, T. Taniguchi, K. Watanabe, D. Hunger, K. Karraï and A. Högele: Open-Cavity in Closed-Cycle Cryostat as a Quantum Optics Platform; PRX Quantum, 10.1103/PRXQuantum.2.040318 (2021)

Scientific breakthrough

F. B. Kugler, S.-S. B. Lee and J. von Delft: Multipoint Correlation Functions: Spectral Representation and Numerical Evaluation; Physical Review X, 10.1103/PhysRevX.11.041006 (2021)

K. J. Kaltenecker, T. Gölz, E. Bau and F. Keilmann: Infrared-spectroscopic, dynamic near-field microscopy of living cells and nanoparticles in water; Scientific Reports, 10.1038/s41598-021-01425-w (2021)

L. Hüttenhofer, M. Golibrzuch, O. Bienek, F. J. Wendisch, R. Lin, M. Becherer, I. D. Sharp, S. A. Maier and E. Cortés: Metasurface Photoelectrodes for Enhanced Solar Fuel Generation; Advanced Energy Materials, https://doi.org/10.1002/aenm.202102877

K. Trofymchuk, V. Glembockyte, L. Grabenhorst, F. Steiner, C. Vietz, C. Close, M. Pfeiffer, L. Richter, M. L. Schütte, F. Selbach, R. Yaadav, J. Zähringer, Q. Wei, A. Ozcan, B. Lalkens, G. P. Acuna and P. Tinnefeld: Addressable nanoantennas with cleared hotspots for single-molecule detection on a portable smartphone microscope; Nature Communications, 10.1038/s41467-021-21238-9 (2021)

Best junior scientist publication

M. S. Brugger, K. Baumgartner, S. C. F. Mauritz, S. C. Gerlach, F. Röder, C. Schlosser, R. Fluhrer, A. Wixforth and C. Westerhausen: Vibration enhanced cell growth induced by surface acoustic waves as in vitro wound healing model; PNAS, (2020)

R. M. L. Berger, J. M. Weck, S. M. Kempe, O. Hill, T. Liedl, J. O. Rädler, C. Monzel and A. Heuer-Jungemann: Nanoscale FasL Organization on DNA Origami to Decipher Apoptosis Signal Activation in Cells; Small, https://doi.org/10.1002/smll.202101678 (2021)

A. Mehlich, J. Fang, B. Pelz, H. Li and J. Stigler: Slow Transition Path Times Reveal a Complex Folding Barrier in a Designed Protein; Frontiers in Chemistry, 10.3389/fchem.2020.587824 (2020)

A. Mähringer, M. Döblinger, M. Hennemann, C. Gruber, D. Fehn, P. I. Scheurle, P. Hosseini, I. Santourian, A. Schirmacher, J. M. Rotter, G. Wittstock, K. Meyer, T. Clark, T. Bein and D. D. Medina: An Electrically Conducting Three-Dimensional Iron–Catecholate Porous Framework; Angewandte Chemie International Edition, https://doi.org/10.1002/anie.202102670 (2021)