CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

Winners of the CeNS Publication Award 2014


On Friday, November 28th, the winners of this year's CeNS Publication Awards were announced to the CeNS members during a festive event. Ten awards were presented in the categories "Best Interdisciplinary Publication", "Scientific Breakthrough" and "Best Junior Scientist Publication". With this award, remarkably successful cooperation projects within CeNS as well as outstanding research of an individual research group of CeNS were distinguished.

Each year, CeNS awards prizes for excellent publications of CeNS members which have been published during the past 12 months. This year, the candidates submitted numerous articles which appeared in high-impact journals between October 2013 and October 2014.


Publication Award Winners 2014 (by category, in random order):


Best interdisciplinary publication


Robert Schreiber, Jaekwon Do, Eva-Maria Roller, Tao Zhang, Verena J. Schüller, Philipp C. Nickels, Jochen Feldmann and Tim Liedl
Hierarchical assembly of metal nanoparticles, quantum dots and organic dyes using DNA origami scaffolds
Nature Nanotechnology 9, 7478 (2014)


Thomas Simon, Nicolas Bouchonville, Maximilian Berr, Aleksandar Vaneski, Asmir Adrovic, David Volbers, Regina Wyrwich, Markus Döblinger, Andrei Susha, Andrey Rogach, Frank Jäckel, Jacek Stolarczyk and Jochen Feldmann
Redox shuttle mechanism enhances photocatalytic H2 generation on Ni-decorated CdS nanorods
Nature Materials 13, 10131018 (2014)


Nina Mauser, Nicolai Hartmann, Matthias S. Hofmann, Julia Janik, Alexander Hogele and Achim Hartschuh
Antenna-Enhanced Optoelectronic Probing of Carbon Nanotubes
Nano Letters 14(7), 37733778 (2014)


Can Yang Zhang, Petra Kos, Katharina Müller, Waldemar Schrimpf, Christina Troiber, Ulrich Lächelt, Claudia Scholz, Don C. Lamb and Ernst Wagner
Native chemical ligation for conversion of sequence-defined oligomers into targeted pDNA and siRNA carriers
Journal of Controlled Release 180, 42-50 (2014)




Scientific breakthrough


Marcus Otten, Wolfgang Ott, Markus A. Jobst, Lukas F. Milles, Tobias Verdorfer, Diana A. Pippig, Michael A. Nash and Hermann E. Gaub
From genes to protein mechanics on a chip
Nature Methods 11, 11271130 (2014)


Christian Westermeier, Adrian Cernescu, Sergiu Amarie, Clemens Liewald, Fritz Keilmann and Bert Nickel
Sub-micron phase coexistence in small-molecule organic thin films revealed by infrared nano-imaging
Nature Communications 5, 4101 (2014)


Christopher Batters, Heike Ellrich, Constanze Helbig, Katy Anna Woodall, Christian Hundschell, Dario Brack and Claudia Veigel
Calmodulin regulates dimerization, motility, and lipid binding of Leishmania myosin XXI
PNAS 111, 227236 (2014)




Best junior scientist publication


Markus F. Weber, Gabriele Poxleitner, Elke Hebisch, Erwin Frey and Madeleine Opitz
Chemical warfare and survival strategies in bacterial range expansion
J. R. Soc. Interface 11, 2014.0172 (2014)


Manuel Wolff, Dieter Braun and Michael A. Nash
Detection of Thermoresponsive Polymer Phase Transition in Dilute Low-Volume Format by Microscale Thermophoretic Depletion
Anal. Chem. 86(14),  67976803 (2014)


Paul Kuhler, Eva-Maria Roller, Robert Schreiber, Tim Liedl, Theobald Lohmuller and Jochen Feldmann
Plasmonic DNA-Origami Nanoantennas for Surface-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy
Nano Letters 14(5), 29142919 (2014)