CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

Winners of the CeNS Publication Award 2017

On Friday, November 24th, the winners of this year's CeNS Publication Awards were announced to the CeNS members during a festive event. Eleven awards were presented in the categories "Best Interdisciplinary Publication", "Scientific Breakthrough" and "Best Junior Scientist Publication". With this award, remarkably successful cooperation projects within CeNS as well as outstanding research of an individual research group of CeNS were distinguished.

Each year, CeNS awards prizes for excellent publications of CeNS members which have been published during the past 12 months. This year, the candidates submitted numerous articles which appeared in high-impact journals between October 2016 and October 2017.

Publication Award Winners 2017 (by category, in random order):

Best interdisciplinary publication

P. C. Nickels, B. Wunsch, P. Holzmeister, W. Bae, L. M. Kneer, D. Grohmann, P. Tinnefeld and T. Liedl: Molecular force spectroscopy with a DNA origami-based nanoscopic force clamp; Science, 10.1126/science.aah5974 (2016)

F. Schueder, M. T. Strauss, D. Hoerl, J. Schnitzbauer, T. Schlichthaerle, S. Strauss, P. Yin, H. Harz, H. Leonhardt and R. Jungmann: Universal Super-Resolution Multiplexing by DNA Exchange; Angewandte Chemie-International Edition, 10.1002/anie.201611729 (2017)

Y. Tong, B. J. Bohn, E. Bladt, K. Wang, P. Muller-Buschbaum, S. Bals, A. S. Urban, L. Polavarapu and J. Feldmann: From Precursor Powders to CsPbX3 Perovskite Nanowires: One-Pot Synthesis, Growth Mechanism, and Oriented Self-Assembly; Angewandte Chemie-International Edition, 10.1002/anie.201707224 (2017)

Scientific breakthrough

I. Vladimirov, M. Kellermeier, T. Geßner, Z. Molla, S. Grigorian, U. Pietsch, L. S. Schaffroth, M. Kühn, F. May and R. T. Weitz: High-Mobility, Ultrathin Organic Semiconducting Films Realized by Surface-Mediated Crystallization; Nano Letters, 10.1021/acs.nanolett.7b03789 (2017)

A. Neumann, J. Lindlau, L. Colombier, M. Nutz, S. Najmaei, J. Lou, A. D. Mohite, H. Yamaguchi and A. Högele: Opto-valleytronic imaging of atomically thin semiconductors; Nature Nanotechnology, 10.1038/nnano.2016.282 (2017)

I. R. Graf and E. Frey: Generic Transport Mechanisms for Molecular Traffic in Cellular Protrusions; Physical Review Letters, 10.1103/PhysRevLett.118.128101 (2017)

D. Saczko-Brack, E. Warchol, B. Rogez, M. Kröss, S. M. Heissler, J. R. Sellers, C. Batters, and C. Veigel: Self-organization of actin networks by a monomeric myosin; PNAS, DOI:10.1073/pnas.1612719113 (2017)

Best junior scientist publication

L. Keil, F. Möller, M. Kieß, P. Kudella and C. Mast: Proton Gradient and pH oscillations emerge from heat flow at the microscale; Nature Communications, doi: 10.1038/s41467-017-02065-3 (2017)

B. von Bronk, S. A. Schaffer, A. Gotz and M. Opitz: Effects of stochasticity and division of labor in toxin production on two-strain bacterial competition in Escherichia coli; Plos Biology, 10.1371/journal.pbio.2001457 (2017)

R. Röder, T. Preiß, P. Hirschle, B. Steinborn, A. Zimpel, M. Höhn, J. O. Rädler, T. Bein, E. Wagner, S. Wuttke and U. Lächelt: Multifunctional Nanoparticles by Coordinative Self-Assembly of His-Tagged Units with Metal–Organic Frameworks; Journal of the American Chemical Society, 10.1021/jacs.6b11934 (2017)