CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

Winners of the CeNS Publication Award 2016

On Friday, November 25th, the winners of this year's CeNS Publication Awards were announced to the CeNS members during a festive event. Eleven awards were presented in the categories "Best Interdisciplinary Publication", "Scientific Breakthrough" and "Best Junior Scientist Publication". With this award, remarkably successful cooperation projects within CeNS as well as outstanding research of an individual research group of CeNS were distinguished.

Each year, CeNS awards prizes for excellent publications of CeNS members which have been published during the past 12 months. This year, the candidates submitted numerous articles which appeared in high-impact journals between October 2015 and October 2016.


Publication Award Winners 2016 (by category, in random order):

Best interdisciplinary publication

J. A. Frank, H. G. Franquelim, P. Schwille and D. Trauner:
Optical Control of Lipid Rafts with Photoswitchable Ceramides;
Journal of the American Chemical Society, 10.1021/jacs.6b07278 (2016)

D. J. Lee, E. Kessel, D. Edinger, D. He, P. M. Klein, L. V. von Voithenberg, D. C. Lamb, U. Lächelt, T. Lehto and E. Wagner:
Dual antitumoral potency of EG5 siRNA nanoplexes armed with cytotoxic bifunctional glutamyl-methotrexate targeting ligand;
Biomaterials, 10.1016/j.biomaterials.2015.11.004 (2016)

E. M. Roller, C. Argyropoulos, A. Högele, T. Liedl and M. Pilo-Pais:
Plasmon-Exciton Coupling Using DNA Templates;
Nano Letters, 10.1021/acs.nanolett.6b03015 (2016)


Scientific breakthrough

J. P. Müller, S. Mielke, A. Löf, T. Obser, C. Beer, L. K. Bruetzel, D. A. Pippig, W. Vanderlinden, J. Lipfert, R. Schneppenheim and M. Benoit:
Force sensing by the vascular protein von Willebrand factor is tuned by a strong intermonomer interaction;
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 10.1073/pnas.1516214113 (2016)

J. Denk, L. Huber, E. Reithmann and E. Frey:
Active Curved Polymers Form Vortex Patterns on Membranes;
Physical Review Letters, 10.1103/PhysRevLett.116.178301 (2016)

V. S. Vyas, F. Haase, L. Stegbauer, G. Savasci, F. Podjaski, C. Ochsenfeld and B. V. Lotsch:
A tunable azine covalent organic framework platform for visible light-induced hydrogen generation;
Nature Communications, 10.1038/ncomms9508 (2015)

L. Ascherl, T. Sick, J. T. Margraf, S. H. Lapidus, M. Calik, C. Hettstedt, K. Karaghiosoff, M. Döblinger, T. Clark, K. W. Chapman, F. Auras and T. Bein:
Molecular docking sites designed for the generation of highly crystalline covalent organic frameworks;
Nature Chemistry, 10.1038/nchem.2444 (2016)


Best junior scientist publication

M. Morasch, D. Braun and C. B. Mast:
Heat-Flow-Driven Oligonucleotide Gelation Separates Single-Base Differences;
Angewandte Chemie-International Edition, 10.1002/anie.201601886 (2016)

A. Babynina, M. Fedoruk, P. Kuhler, A. Meledin, M. Döblinger and T. Lohmüller:
Bending Gold Nanorods with Light;
Nano Letters, 10.1021/acs.nanolett.6b03029 (2016)

V. A. Hintermayr, A. F. Richter, F. Ehrat, M. Döblinger, W. Vanderlinden, J. A. Sichert, Y. Tong, L. Polavarapu, J. Feldmann and A. S. Urban:
Tuning the Optical Properties of Perovskite Nanoplatelets through Composition and Thickness by Ligand-Assisted Exfoliation;
Advanced Materials, 10.1002/adma.201602897 (2016)