CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

Winners of the CeNS Publication Award 2020

Every year, CeNS awards prizes for excellent publications of CeNS members which have been published during the past 12 months. On Friday, December 4, the winners of this year's CeNS Publication Awards were announced online. Ten awards were presented in the categories "Best Interdisciplinary Publication", "Scientific Breakthrough" and "Best Junior Scientist Publication". With this award, remarkably successful cooperation projects within CeNS as well as outstanding research of an individual research group of CeNS were distinguished.

Publication Award Winners 2020 (by category, in random order):

Best interdisciplinary publication

K. Bartnik, A. Barth, M. Pilo-Pais, A. H. Crevenna, T. Liedl and D. C. Lamb: A DNA Origami Platform for Single-Pair Forster Resonance Energy Transfer Investigation of DNA-DNA Interactions and Ligation; Journal of the American Chemical Society, 10.1021/jacs.9b09093 (2020)  https://doi.org/10.1021/jacs.9b09093

P. Glock, F. Brauns, J. Halatek, E. Frey and P. Schwille: Design of biochemical pattern forming systems from minimal motifs; Elife, 10.7554/eLife.48646 (2019) https://elifesciences.org/articles/48646

K. Gottschling, G. Savasci, H. Vignolo-Gonzalez, S. Schmidt, P. Mauker, T. Banerjee, P. Rovo, C. Ochsenfeld and B. V. Lotsch: Rational Design of Covalent Cobaloxime-Covalent Organic Framework Hybrids for Enhanced Photocatalytic Hydrogen Evolution; Journal of the American Chemical Society, 10.1021/jacs.0c02155 (2020) https://doi.org/10.1021/jacs.0c02155

Scientific breakthrough

D. B. Bruckner, P. Ronceray and C. P. Broedersz: Inferring the Dynamics of Underdamped Stochastic Systems; Physical Review Letters, 10.1103/PhysRevLett.125.058103 (2020) https://doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevLett.125.058103

J. Förste, N. V. Tepliakov, S. Y. Kruchinin, J. Lindlau, V. Funk, M. Förg, K. Watanabe, T. Taniguchi, A. S. Baimuratov and A. Högele: Exciton g-factors in monolayer and bilayer WSe2 from experiment and theory; Nature Communications, 10.1038/s41467-020-18019-1 (2020) doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-18019-1

A. Salditt, L. M. R. Keil, D. P. Horning, C. B. Mast, G. F. Joyce and D. Braun: Thermal Habitat for RNA Amplification and Accumulation; Physical Review Letters, 10.1103/PhysRevLett.125.048104 (2020) doi.org/10.1103/PhysRevLett.125.048104

S. Strauss and R. Jungmann: Up to 100-fold speed-up and multiplexing in optimized DNA-PAINT; Nature Methods, 10.1038/s41592-020-0869-x (2020) doi.org/10.1038/s41592-020-0869-x

Best junior scientist publication

J. W. Fang, T. Debnath, S. Bhattacharyya, M. Doblinger, J. Feldmann and J. K. Stolarczyk: Photobase effect for just-in-time delivery in photocatalytic hydrogen generation; Nature Communications, 10.1038/s41467-020-18583-6 (2020) https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-020-18583-6

A. Müller-Deku, J. C. M. Meiring, K. Loy, Y. Kraus, C. Heise, R. Bingham, K. I. Jansen, X. Qu, F. Bartolini, L. C. Kapitein, A. Akhmanova, J. Ahlfeld, D. Trauner and O. Thorn-Seshold: Photoswitchable paclitaxel-based microtubule stabilisers allow optical control over the microtubule cytoskeleton; Nature Communications, 10.1038/s41467-020-18389-6 (2020) doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-18389-6

E. Ploetz, A. Zimpel, V. Cauda, D. Bauer, D. C. Lamb, C. Haisch, S. Zahler, A. M. Vollmar, S. Wuttke and H. Engelke: Metal-Organic Framework Nanoparticles Induce Pyroptosis in Cells Controlled by the Extracellular pH; Advanced Materials, 10.1002/adma.201907267 (2020) https://doi.org/10.1002/adma.201907267