HOMECONTACTSITE MAPIMPRINT
CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage
Home  >  News  >  News

News

Friday, 29 April, 2016

Live is motion

LMU physicists have developed a way to distinguish the random motions of particles in non-living molecular systems from the motility of active living matter. The method affords new insights into fundamental biological processes.

What are the salient physical and chemical properties that more …

Thursday, 28 April, 2016

Welcome!

Dr. Oliver Thorn-Seshold joins CeNS as a new extraordinary member more …

Wednesday, 27 April, 2016

Closing the ring

How bacterial cells divide in two is not fully understood. LMU physicists now show that, at high concentrations, a crucial protein can assemble into ring-shaped filaments that constrict the cell, giving rise to two daughter cells.

In the final step in bacterial cell division, constriction of the more …

Tuesday, 26 April, 2016

Otto Bayer Prize for Dirk Trauner

CeNS member Dirk Trauner honored for his significant contributions to photopharmacology and optogenetics more …

Monday, 25 April, 2016

ERC Advanced Grant for Fritz Simmel

Extraordinary CeNS member wins highly-endowed research grant more …

Tuesday, 19 April, 2016

The systems of biology

Three CeNS groups will work in the new Center for Molecular Biosystems (BioSysM) more …

Wednesday, 13 April, 2016

Sorting the wheat from the chaff

Biophysics more …

Monday, 11 April, 2016

Blue boost for insulin secretion

Photopharmacology more …

Tuesday, 05 April, 2016

Photoswitches: A New Addition to the Molecular Toolkit

LMU chemist Dirk Trauner builds photoresponsive molecular switches that enable nerve-cell receptors to be controlled by light. In this way, nerve-cell activity can be switched on and off at will – in the laboratory. “But,” he says, “we hope that our research can be translated into medical more …

Tuesday, 15 March, 2016

DNA22 - 22nd International Conference on DNA Computing and Molecular Programming 2016

Call for papers more …

Monday, 14 March, 2016

New CeNS Student Representatives

Results of the online election more …

Monday, 08 February, 2016

PhD and Postdoc Positions in Nanoscience

International call for applications at CeNS more …

Friday, 05 February, 2016

Partitioning by collision

An ensemble consisting of a binary mixture of particles of equal size can partition itself into its component fractions – provided that the two species differ in their diffusion constants.

If you shake a can of mixed nuts before opening it, you can count on finding the walnuts on top and the more …

Wednesday, 16 December, 2015

Art project "Origin of life"

Art meets science: Artist Judith Egger and Biophysicist Dieter Braun work together on an art project about the origin of life.  more …

Friday, 11 December, 2015

Magical materials

Nanotechnology more …

Wednesday, 09 December, 2015

Customized hybrids

New high-tech material more …

Monday, 07 December, 2015

ERC Starting Grant for Ralf Jungmann

CeNS member wins highly-endowed research grant more …

Monday, 30 November, 2015

Welcome!

Prof. Thomas Weitz joins CeNS as a new member more …

Friday, 27 November, 2015

CeNS Publication Award Winners 2015!

Authors of outstanding publications receive Publication Awards more …

Thursday, 26 November, 2015

Turbulence in bacterial cultures

Cultures of motile bacteria exhibit swirling patterns with a high level of self-organization that are reminiscent of classical turbulence. However, to describe these adequately, the conventional model of turbulence must be extended.

Turbulent flows surround us, from complex cloud formations to more …

Monday, 23 November, 2015

Welcome!

Dr. Beatrix Förster joins CeNS as a new extraordinary member more …

Tuesday, 03 November, 2015

LMU team Nanocandy wins 2nd prize in the BIOMOD 2015 competition!

Congratulations! more …

Tuesday, 27 October, 2015

Dangling the bait

Photoswitches more …

Friday, 23 October, 2015

A tail with alternate ending

Biophysics more …

Thursday, 15 October, 2015

Dr. Katharina Frank joins SFB1032 team as new program manager

Welcome!  more …

Wednesday, 14 October, 2015

A Wonder in Blue

Optoelectronics more …

Monday, 12 October, 2015

Welcome!

Prof. Chase Broedersz joins CeNS as a new member more …

Monday, 05 October, 2015

Welcome!

Dr. Alexander Urban joins CeNS as a new extraordinary member more …

Wednesday, 30 September, 2015

Hydrogen for all seasons

Solar Energy more …

Monday, 28 September, 2015

Tweaking proteins with ‘Tub-tag’

Biotechnology more …

Wednesday, 23 September, 2015

Nanostructures for contactless control

Color-coding sensors more …

Tuesday, 08 September, 2015

The eight-step path

Epicolactones more …

Tuesday, 08 September, 2015

Front runner LMU

LMU Faculty of Physics holds top position in DFG' s funding ranking more …

Thursday, 27 August, 2015

Light-activated learning

A German-French team has developed a light-sensitive switch that regulates a protein implicated in the neurobiology of synaptic plasticity. The agent promises to shed new light on the phenomenology of learning, memory and neurodegeneration.

Learning is made possible by the fact that the more …

Tuesday, 18 August, 2015

Formation of swarms in nanosystems

One of the striking features of self-organization in biomolecular systems is the capacity of assemblies of filamentous particles for synchronous motion. LMU physicists now provide new insights into how such movements are coordinated.

Living matter, which consists largely of diverse polymeric more …

Wednesday, 05 August, 2015

Pincer Attack

DNA Repair more …

Friday, 17 July, 2015

From fundamental research to application - CeNS Innovation Award 2015

CeNS and four LMU spin-off companies jointly award two innovative theses more …

Thursday, 16 July, 2015

Welcome!

Prof. Matthias Punk joins CeNS as a new member more …

Tuesday, 14 July, 2015

Light-gated control of cell division

LMU chemists have developed photoresponsive derivatives of an antimitotic drug, which permit light-dependent control of cell division. The new agents could provide the basis for precisely targeted tumor therapies, free of side-effects. more …

Tuesday, 14 July, 2015

Reassembling life’s starter kit

The origin of life more …

Monday, 29 June, 2015

The secret of the tiny magnetic beads

CeNS researchers were able to show how biological motors and molecules can be used to carry out precise measurements of magnetic materials more …

Friday, 26 June, 2015

On the beginnings of biology

CeNS scientists start Origins of Life Initiative Munich (OLIM) more …

Wednesday, 10 June, 2015

Christoph Bräuchle receives Walther-Nernst-Denkmünze

High honor by the Deutsche Bunsen-Gesellschaft für Physikalische Chemie e.V.  more …

Tuesday, 02 June, 2015

EU funding for cutting-edge training of PhD-students

New International Training Network "SAWtrain" at the University of Augsburg more …

Wednesday, 27 May, 2015

Mehr Wasserstoff durch neue Nanopartikel

LMU-Forscher synthetisieren Eisen-Nickel-Oxid-Nanopartikel, mit deren Hilfe die Wasseroxidation bis zu zehnmal effektiver abläuft. more …

Tuesday, 19 May, 2015

Welcome!

Dr. Jan Minár joins CeNS as a new member more …

Wednesday, 13 May, 2015

attocube receives ‘BEST OF 2015’ Industry Award

Another prestigious award for CeNS Spin-off attocube systems more …

Tuesday, 05 May, 2015

Faculty of Physics is "Historic Site"

Rich in History - European Physical Society nominates LMU Faculty of Physics more …

Wednesday, 29 April, 2015

Welcome!

Dr. Hanna Engelke joins CeNS as extraordinary member more …

Friday, 24 April, 2015

CeNS Annual Report 2014 online

Read about research and events in 2014 more …

<< First < Previous 1-50 51-100 101-129 Next > Last >>