HOMECONTACTSITE MAPIMPRINT
CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage
Home  >  News  >  News

News

Wednesday, 10 December, 2014

Hendrik Dietz awarded Leibniz Prize

Extraordinary CeNS member wins Germanys most prestigious research award more …

Monday, 08 December, 2014

Cellulose-binding protein complex is found to be mechanically ultrastable

Cellulose is rapidly being recognized as a valuable chemical commodity for the production of bio-derived fuels and chemicals. Cellulose obtained from municipal and agricultural wastes, for example, can be converted into high-value soluble sugars using enzyme catalysts. These sugars are useful for more …

Monday, 08 December, 2014

Römer Awards for CeNS Associates

Best Master and PhD Theses awarded more …

Thursday, 04 December, 2014

Kick-Off for new Nano Institute close to the Englischer Garten

The Bavarian Parliament has approved to finance the Nano Institute Munich close to the Englischer Garten. The new building will host two NIM and CeNS relevant professorships in the field of energy conversion.

Press release (in German) more …

Saturday, 29 November, 2014

CeNS Publication Award Winners 2014!

Authors of outstanding publications receive Publication Awards more …

Saturday, 29 November, 2014

New CeNS Board

Annual Assembly elects two new board members more …

Thursday, 20 November, 2014

Taming the Boltzmann equation

Statistical physics more …

Monday, 17 November, 2014

From Genes to Protein Mechanics on a Chip

Mechanical forces play a pivotal role in biological systems by performing tasks such as guiding cell adhesion, inducing gene expression patterns and directing stem cell differentiation. At the molecular level, mechano-sensitive proteins act as sensors and transducers, communicating the presence and more …

Thursday, 13 November, 2014

Synthetic Biology

New Graduate Research Training Group established more …

Tuesday, 28 October, 2014

LMU und BASF schließen Patentkaufvertrag

Die LMU vereinbart bislang umfangreichsten Lizenzvertrag im Bereich der Proteinforschung: BASF kauft aussichtsreiche Patente für innovative Entwicklungen in der Biomedizin.  more... more …

Tuesday, 14 October, 2014

Optical control of insulin secretion

Photopharmacology more …

Wednesday, 17 September, 2014

NanoTemper Technologies wins the "Deutscher Gründerpreis 2014

Another success for the CeNS Spin-Off  more …

Wednesday, 17 September, 2014

Nanion Technologies Nominated for the Deutscher Zukunftspreis

CeNS Spin-Off is nominated for the Federal Presidents Award for Technology and Innovation more …

Friday, 05 September, 2014

Welcome!

Dr. Michael Nash joins CeNS as Extraordinary Member more …

Thursday, 07 August, 2014

Molecular shuttle speeds up hydrogen production

Energy research more …

Friday, 25 July, 2014

Responsible Research

Junior researchers met at LMU Munich more …

Tuesday, 22 July, 2014

Lighting the way to the delta

Photopharmacology more …

Monday, 21 July, 2014

DNA used as a lightswitch

Nano-optics more …

Tuesday, 15 July, 2014

Welcome!

Dr. Philipp Paulitschke joins CeNS as Extraordinary Member more …

Wednesday, 02 July, 2014

How it all began

1.5 million dollars for evolutionary research for Dieter Braun more …

Monday, 30 June, 2014

More pores for more power

Energy storage technology more …

Friday, 13 June, 2014

Nano-imaging probes molecular disorder

Organic semiconductors more …

Wednesday, 28 May, 2014

Leaving the islands

Surface physics more …

Thursday, 22 May, 2014

CeNS Annual Report 2013 online

Read about research and events in 2013 more …

Tuesday, 20 May, 2014

A new genetic switching element

Stem-cell research more …

Wednesday, 14 May, 2014

Molecules and their comfort zones

Biophysics more …

Wednesday, 02 April, 2014

Balancing science and family obligations

Carleen Kluger wins grant of the Christine Nüsslein-Volhard Foundation more …

Monday, 17 March, 2014

CeNS Student Representatives

Results of the online election 2014 more …

Thursday, 13 March, 2014

attocube systems AG acquires the majority holding in Neaspec GmbH

Munich-based nanotechnology specialist attocube took over the majority share in Neaspec GmbH by mid-February. more …

Wednesday, 05 March, 2014

CeNS Travel Awards - Financial support for conferences or workshops

Next application deadline April 15 more …

Monday, 03 March, 2014

World Class in Physics

LMU Physics ranks 13th in QS World university ranking more …

Tuesday, 25 February, 2014

Photopharmacology

Optoswitches turn pain off and sight on more …

Tuesday, 18 February, 2014

The thousand-droplets test

Chemical reactions in artificial cell-scale systems show surprising diversity more …

Wednesday, 12 February, 2014

Wandering heat

Anomalous heat distribution in one-dimensional systems more …

Wednesday, 01 January, 2014

PhD and Postdoc Positions in Nanoscience

International call for applications at CeNS more …

Wednesday, 18 December, 2013

Welcome!

Dr. Stefan Wuttke joins CeNS as Extraordinary Member more …

Monday, 09 December, 2013

Planet-Satellite Model

Nanoparticles and their orbital positions more …

Friday, 22 November, 2013

CeNS Publication Award Winners 2013!

Authors of outstanding publications receive Publication Awards more …

Friday, 22 November, 2013

New members of the CeNS board

Congratulations to Claudia Veigel and Tim Liedl more …

Thursday, 21 November, 2013

Exportpreis Bayern

Erfolg für CeNS Spin-off NanoTemper more …

Friday, 08 November, 2013

Bio-Molecular Design Award

First place for LMU Physics Team DNA Diamonds  more …

Thursday, 07 November, 2013

Welcome!

Prof. Jan Lipfert joins CeNS as Ordinary Member more …

Friday, 25 October, 2013

Molecular biology

Designer of protein factories exposed more …

Tuesday, 22 October, 2013

Welcome!

Dr. Markus Rehberg joins CeNS as Extraordinary Member more …

Monday, 30 September, 2013

Nanonica-Prize 2013 for Prof. Dr. Jochen Feldmann

Professor Jochen Feldmann, Chair of Photonics and Optoelectronics at LMU and Coordinator of the Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM) has been awarded the annual prize for the "Breakthrough of the Year 2013" in the nanosciences, sponsored by the Swiss firm Nanonica.The Prize goes to more …

Friday, 30 August, 2013

Quantum physics

Electrons jostling in a traffic jam more …

Thursday, 01 August, 2013

ERC-Grants for two CeNS members

Alexander Högele and Tim Liedl each receive an ERC Starting Grant more …

Friday, 19 July, 2013

attocube Research Awards 2013

Awards for Munich Junior Nanoscientists more …

Saturday, 06 July, 2013

attocube systems AG receives Germanys TOP100 innovation award

CeNS spin-off honored as one of Germany's most innovative companies more …

Thursday, 27 June, 2013

Organic electronics

Imaging defects in solar cells more …