CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

International Physics of Living Systems Network (iPoLS)

2014 Annual Meeting - Munich/Germany

July 21 - 24, 2014

Scope of the Workshop

NSF's Physics of Living Systems (PoLS) program funds networking activities among graduate students and educators working on the physics of living systems. This trans-institutional student research network (SRN) includes a variety of activities to encrouage regular interactions between students and faculty at participating institutions. more...


  • Ben-Gurion-University
  • CNRS (France)
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Harvard University
  • LMU Munich
  • Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry
  • National University of Singapore
  • Princeton University
  • Rice University
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Campaign
  • University of Maryland
  • Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
  • TU Munich
  • Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Yale University


Wolfgang Baumeister, MPI of Biochemistry
Ed Bayer, Weizmann Institute of Science
Dieter Braun, LMU Munich
Chen Chen, National University of Singapore
Elena Conti
, MPI of Biochemistry
Flavio Fenton, Georgia Institute of Technology
Erwin Frey, LMU Munich
Lu Gan, National University of Singapore
Ulrike Gaul, LMU Munich
Thomas Gregor, Princeton University
Taekjip Ha, University of Illinois
David Hu, Georgia Institute of Technology
Harold Kim, Georgia Institute of Technology
Erel Levine, Harvard University
Herbert Levine, Rice University
Vladimir Lorman, Laboratoire Charles Coulomb, Montpellier
Wolfgang Losert, University of Maryland
Emmanuel Margeat, Centre de Biochimie Structurale, Montpellier
Utkur Mirasaidov, National University of Singapore
Simon Mochrie, Yale University
Eyal Nir, Ben Gurion University
Jose Onuchic, Rice University
Matthias Rief, TU Munich
Monica Santos de Freitas, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Raj Saurabh, CNRS
Klaus Schulten, University of Illinois
Jerson L. Silva, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Dave Thirumalai, University of Maryland
Fernanda Tovar Moll, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Arpita Upadhyaya, University of Maryland

Workshop Organization

Prof. Don Lamb, LMU Munich
Prof. Zan Luthey-Schulten, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Management Team:
Marilena Pinto, M.A.
Dr. Susanne Hennig
Anna Kager, B.A.

Center for NanoScience (CeNS) and SFB 1032
Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1
D-80539 München

Tel: +49-(0)89-2180-3390

In cooperation with: