CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

Nano-Bio-Physics Symposium 2019

"Stretching the boundaries of physics, one molecule at a time"

September 6-7, 2019

Reprinted with permission from Sedlak et al. Nano Lett (2018). Article ASAP. DOI: 10.1021/acs.nanolett.8b04045; Copyright 2018 American Chemical Society

Scope of the Symposium

The symposium "Stretching the boundaries of physics, one molecule at a time" will be held at the LMU Munich on September 6 and 7, 2019, coinciding with the approaching retirement and 65th birthday of Prof. Hermann Gaub. It will bring together biophysicists from all parts of the world, amongst them friends, colleagues and collaborators. The program will comprise two days of talks and on Friday evening a casual conference dinner and plenty of room for informal discussions.


The Symposium will start on Friday, September 6 in the morning at about 9.00 am and will end on Saturday night, September 7.

There will be

· Scientific talks (20 minutes each)

· Conference dinner on Friday and possibilities for a joint dinner Saturday evening

· Coffee break with informal poster viewing. We welcome anyone interested to present their work in an informal poster   format.

Detailed program will follow.


There are hotel rooms in the vicinity of the LMU. We have blocked single and double rooms from 05.09/06.09 to 08.09.2019.

Hotel Carlton Astoria, http://www.carlton-astoria.de/start.htm
Das Hotel, https://www.das-hotel-in-muenchen.de/de/
Hotel Hauser, https://www.hotel-hauser.de/de/
Hotel Antares, https://www.antares-muenchen.de/

Please book directly with the hotels, either by mail or phone call and use the keyword "Festkolloquium". Travel expenses have to be covered individually.

The group block expires July, 2019.

For further questions please contact Sylvia Kreuzer.


Registration deadline: August 15.

Workshop Venue

LMU Munich
Opens external link in new windowLecture Hall H030
Schellingstr. 4
80799 Munich

Program Committee

Opens external link in new windowMatthias Rief

Opens external link in new windowJan Lipfert

Opens external link in new windowMartin Benoit

Administrative Coordination:
Opens window for sending emailSylvia Kreuzer

Confirmed Speakers

Prof. Thorsten Hugel, University of Freiburg

Prof. Daniel Müller, ETH Zürich

Prof. Hauke Clausen-Schaumann, Hochschule München

Dr. Benjamin Gaub, ETH Zürich

Prof. Roland Netz, FU-Berlin

Prof. Tim Liedl, LMU München

Prof. Philipp Tinnefeld, LMU München

Prof. Julio F. Fernandez, Columbia University

Prof. Matthias Rief, TU München

Prof. Helmut Grubmüller, Max-Planck-Institut

Prof. Elias Puchner, University of Minnesota

Prof. Jan Lipfert, LMU München

Prof. Ed Bayer, The Weizmann Institute of Science

Prof. Dieter Braun, LMU München

Dr. Rafael Bernardi, University of Illinois

Prof. Viola Vogel, ETH Zürich

Prof. Christoph Gerber, University of Basel

Prof. Wolfgang Parak, Universität Hamburg

Dr. Kerstin Blank, Max-Planck-Institut

Dr. Günther Gerisch, Max-Planck-Institut

Prof. Evan Evans, University of British Columbia

Prof. Erich Sackmann, TU München

Prof. Joachim Rädler, LMU München

Prof. Jürgen Rabe, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Prof. Ernst-Ludwig Florin, University of Texas

Prof. Hongbin Li, University of British Columbia

Prof. Michael Nash, ETH Zürich

Prof. Kay Gottschalk, Universität Ulm



Supported by