CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage

CeNS Innovation Award

The CeNS Innovation Award is awarded annually by the Center for NanoScience together with the CeNS spin-offs attocube systems, ibidi, Nanion Technologies, and NanoTemper Technologies, to honor junior researchers for excellent research in the nanosciences. Research projects with a potential for industrial applications are especially welcome.

The prize is awarded in two categories:
1. For an outstanding master's thesis in the field of nanosciences/nanotechnology
2. For an outstanding PhD thesis in the field of nanosciences/nanotechnology

The prize money is donated by the CeNS Spin-Offs attocube systems, ibidi, Nanion Technologies and NanoTemper Technologies. The prize is €3,000 in the category "Master's thesis" and €6,000 in the category "PhD thesis".

In addition, the awardees are invited to present their results at the Opens internal link in current windowCeNS workshop in Venice.

In 2016, the CeNS Innovation Award was suspended. The next application deadline will be due in June 2017.

Who can participate? 

Junior scientists from the Munich area (LMU, TUM, MPIs, Hochschule München, University of Augsburg) are eligible. They must have finished their master's thesis thesis or PhD thesis between June 15, 2015 and June 22, 2017.

Candidates have to be nominated by their thesis supervisor.

Submission guideline

The following documents (in English or German) have to be submitted to the CeNS office

  • Nomination letter by the thesis supervisor 

  • Curriculum Vitae (including Master's/PhD certificate) 

  • List of publications (if available) 

  • Maximum two pages: Summary of the thesis and description of the innovative character of the work;
    if applicable: explanation of the potential application of the research work (or parts of it) for industry

Applications have to be submitted by e-mail to hennig@cens.de by June 22, 2017.

Award Ceremony

The award ceremony will take place at the event “CeNS meets Industry” in July 2017.

Awardees 2015

CeNS Innovation Award for master's thesis
Aurora Manzi, group of Prof. Jochen Feldmann (LMU)

CeNS Innovation Award for PhD thesis
Christof Mast, group of Prof. Dieter Braun (LMU)