CeNS Center for NanoScience LMU Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
CeNS HomepageLMU Homepage
Home  >  News  >  Archive

Monday, 26 November, 2007

CeNS Publication Award 07

This Year's Winners Announced

Each year, CeNS awards prizes for excellent publications of CeNS members
which have been published during the past 12 months. This year, the
candidates submitted numerous articles which appeared in high-impact
journals between September 2006 and September 2007. With this award,
remarkably successful cooperation projects within CeNS as well as
outstanding research of an individual research group of CeNS are
distinguished. The winning authors were announced during the CeNS
Come-Together-Party on Friday, 23th and receive a prize money of EUR 1'000.

The winning publications (random order):

K. Becker, J. M. Lupton, J. Müller, A. L. Rogach, D. V. Talapin, H. Weller, and J. Feldmann:
Electrical Control of Förster Energy Transfer
Nature Materials 5, 777-781 (2006)

P. Baaske, F. M. Weinert, S. Duhr, K. H. Lemke, M. J. Russell, and D. Braun:

Extreme Accumulation of Nucleotides in Simulated Hydrothermal Pore Systems
PNAS 104, 9346-51 (2007)

S. W. Schneider, S. Nuschele, A. Wixforth, C. Gorzelanny, A. Alexander-Katz, R. R. Netz, and M. F. Schneider:
Shear-Induced Unfolding Triggers Adhesion of von Willebrand Factor Fibers
PNAS 104, 7899-7903 (2007)


T. Hugel, J. Michaelis, C. L. Hetherington, P. J. Jardine, S. Grimes, J. M. Walter, W. Falk, D. L. Anderson, and C. Bustamante:
Experimental Test of Connector Rotation during DNA Packaging into Bacteriophage 29 Capsids
PLoS BIOLOGY 5, e59 (2007)


M. Wubs, K. Saito, S. Kohler, P. Hänggi, and Y. Kayanuma:
Gauging a Quantum Heat Bath with Dissipative Landau-Zener transitions
Physical Review Letters 97, 200404 (2006)


T. Reichenbach, M. Mobilia, and E. Frey:
Mobility Promotes and Jeopardizes Biodiversity in Rock-Paper-Scissors Games
Nature 448, 1046-1049 (2007)


K. de Bruin, N. Ruthardt, K. von Gersdorff, R. Bausinger, E. Wagner, M. Ogris, and C. Braeuchle:
Cellular Dynamics of EGF Receptor-Targeted Synthetic Viruses
Molecular Therapy 15, 1297-1305 (2007)


S. Schiefer, M. Huth, A. Dobrinevski, and B. Nickel:
Determination of the Crystal Structure of Substrate-Induced Pentacene Polymorphs in Fibre Structured Thin Films
J. Am. Chem. Soc. 129, 10316-10317( 2007)


J. Kirstein, B. Platschek, C. Jung, R. Brown, T. Bein, and C. Bräuchle:
Exploration of Nanostructured Channel Systems with Single-Molecule Probes
Nature Materials 6, 303-310 (2007)


U. Rothbauer, K. Zolghadr, S. Tillib, D. Nowak, L. Schermelleh, A. Gahl, N. Backmann, K. Conrath, S. Muyldermans, C. Cardoso, and H. Leonhardt:
Targeting and Tracing Antigens in Live Cells with Fluorescent Nanobodies
Nature Methods 3, 887-889  (2006)


O. Lieleg, M. M. A. E. Claessens, C. Heussinger, E. Frey, and A. R. Bausch:
Mechanics of Bundled Semiflexible Polymer Networks
Physical Review Letters 99, 088102 (2007)


B. K. Müller, A. Reuter, F. C. Simmel, and D. C. Lamb:
Single-Pair FRET Characterization of DNA Tweezers
Nano Letters 6, 2814  (2006)


V. S. Khrapai, S. Ludwig, J. P. Kotthaus, H. P. Tranitz, and W. Wegscheider:
Counterflow of Electrons in Two Isolated Quantum Point Contacts
Physical Review Letters 99, 096803 (2007)